VERONICA E. MAIER

Read: Alligator, Old Mink and New Money by Allison Houtte

In Chic, clothing on February 14, 2009 at 9:36 am

I just finished Alligator, Old Mink and New Money by Allison Houtte. It was inspiring and hillarious, or a houtte, so to speak! (I know, not funny.)  She writes about her adventures as a child rummaging through flea markets with her mother and her journey from a model in Paris to the proud owner of Hootie Couture in Brooklyn. I enjoyed it immensely, especially since in my heart of hearts, I’d love to own a vintage clothing/furniture store some day. Do read it, it’s worth it… your pocketbook may not thank you though. It sure made me want to go shopping!

  1. this is right up my alley- thanx for mentioning it. i looove this site, by the way. it’s fabulous! (i put a link to it on my blog, “the thrify lizard.” hope you don’t mind!)

  2. that was supposed to read “thrifty.” i was typing too fast.

Leave a Reply

